h1

K-ON! 11, Clenched Fist

06/14/2009

drag

I just love some of the band names Yui came up with in this ep. My favorite was “Clenched Fist”, pretty much polar opposite of Mio’s suggestions with her “Pure Pure” and “Popcorn Honeymoon”. Also, “Rocket Pencil” and “The Gum under a Shoe”, WTF? Nonetheless very ambiguous and meaningless just like how a band name should be.  They also forgot Yui’s “The Ring Finger on the Chest of Drawers” from the manga, which is also very good.

Oh, Yui.

Oh, Yui.

I liked this ep in general.  KyoAni even managed to slip in little bit of drama concerning Mio and Ritsu’s friendship that was not in the manga (At least I can’t remember it being in it).  The whole tension between the two actually filled me with unease.  The other 99% of the show is filled with so much happy-go-lucky-honeymoon-popcorn that the sudden shift in mood really caught me off guard. I’ve stomached way worse stuff (actually pretty anything is worse) so it was dumb for me to feel uneasy.

bedroom-scene

I thought the scene with the two in the bedroom was well executed.  And now they actually have a reason for why Yui was sick, unlike in the manga.  By the way, if I was Yui, I would have been so pissed at Ritsu.  Nothing pisses me off more than being sick, and if I had the luxury of knowing the culprit who did me in, I would have bashed his/her face in.  Actually if I was Yui, I wouldn’t have fallen asleep next to someone who had a fever.

Some more screens —

detectivescute-azusa

Next week, THE END OF THE WOOOOOOOOORLLLLLLLLLLLLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last ep of K-ON! is upon us, and I couldn’t be happier.  It was a pure-pure ride, but I’m looking forward to a more clenched-fist experience with Canaan and the other 80+ shows on my to-watch-list

Leave a Reply

