h1

Haruhi 13 had me sweating bullets

06/26/2009

sweat bullet

I’ve had bad experiences with accidentally skipping an episode or chapter in a show or manga.  The worst incident happened when I was reading the Genshiken manga.  I was happily reading through the story.  The members of Genshiken were on their summer trip to Kuruizawa and the Sasahara and Ogiue crisis was about to be solved.  So I’m reading and reading and BAM! Suddenly Sasa and Ogi were in the woods, and Sasa was apologizing to Ogi for some apparent reason.  Being the noob that I was at the time, I paid little heed to my confusion and kept on reading.  It was later that I found out that I had skipped a chapter, but it wasn’t just any chapter, it was probably the most important chapter in the whole manga.  I read through the entire manga only to find out later that I had missed it.  From that day forward, I vowed to never make the same mistake again.

To advert certain disaster in the future, I always double check to see if I was indeed finish with an episode or chapter before continuing on (Of course, this doesn’t happen if I’m watching or reading something with episodes/chapters back to back, I’m not that forgetful).  For example, even if I am quite positive that I had watched an episode the day before, I still click on the file and have the progress bar jump around a bit to ascertain that fact.  Then Haruhi 13 comes… If you’ve seen the episode (I don’t know why you’re here if you haven’t seen it yet… Slow internet?) You can see why I have met my match the moment I opened up the newly torrented file today.  “Something was strange, I somehow got that feeling.” was Kyon’s first line in the episode (at least according to Mazui Fansubs), and I can say that I felt the same way.  Kyon was lying on the couch watching a baseball game in which he cared for neither teams.  His cell phone rings and Haruhi’s voice burst through the speaker commanding Kyon to get ready.  What the fuck? Sweat drops from my forehead.  It was time for progress bar abuse.  To avoid potentially spoiling myself, I clicked conservatively rightward toward the halfway point of the file, somewhere past the midpoint, my sweating started to diminish.  It was indeed a new episode, and I hadn’t picked the wrong file or in the worst case scenario, download the same episode twice.  Still, as I watched on, a feeling of uneasiness loomed over me…

I hoped you enjoyed my boring and over exaggerated story.  My story does indeed have a point though, for this feeling I had is very similar to the atmosphere of the episode itself, total uncertainty.  I pointed out last week that episode 12 didn’t really have any plot and that episode eight felt more Haruhiiiy (can’t think of a good word? Putting a ‘y’ on something and making it an adjective is your friend) in terms of mindfuck.  Well, I was wrong.  Before a Haruhi-light-novel-reader bursts in here to state his or her superiority, I will admit my mistake.  However, I am glad I was wrong, because I got this episode out of the deal.  Last week’s episode was just build up to this week’s magnificent plot twist.  Although the endless-time idea has been used in other works of fiction, Haruhi just does it so well.  The two weeks had been repeated for over 15,498 times?! Nagato experienced every 594 years of it?! Arbitrary numbers makes things more mysterious?!

Before I try to be funny again, I’ll wrap up this post.  This week’s episode makes up for last weeks.  I can’t wait to see how the SOS Brigade solves this one.  p.s. Koizumi is kinda gay.

I love you

4 comments

  1. I bet Koizumi was so daring in this episode because he knows everyone will never remember any of it. =w= Perfect chance.


    • lol, the whole reverting back to two weeks ago is pretty much the same thing as death. If I knew it were to happen, I would become quite daring as well :O


      • Agreed. +_+
        I only await what kind of deviations we will see on the next episode. Hopefully Kyon will be able to figure out how to get out of the loop.


  2. one minute into it and i was like “you best be trolling, haruhi” and she was :/ for an entire episode.



Leave a Reply

